Thursday Things

Helloooo and, as always, happy Thursday. It’s a bit of a short post this week, as I’ve not had five minutes to myself, which means my google reader has been seriously neglected. There’s never enough time. I’ll do better next week, I promise. x

A Quote Thing

I came across this quote from Ira Glass, via The Broke Ass Bride

Your taste is why your own work disappoints you. Nobody tells this to people who are beginners, I wish someone told me. All of us who do creative work, we get into it because we have good taste. But there is this gap. For the first couple years you make stuff, it’s just not that good. It’s trying to be good, it has potential, but it’s not. But your taste, the thing that got you into the game, is still killer. And your taste is why your work disappoints you. A lot of people never get past this phase, they quit.

It’s a great reminder that creativity is a journey not a destination.

I see a hundred other photographers whose work I admire and I wonder if I’ll ever be as good as them. I see people doing amazing fine-art photography and street photography and I wonder if my current focus on developing a wedding photography business is the right path for me.

I doubt myself all of the time and then I remember that I am a certain point on my very specific personal journey. It’s my journey and no one else’s so I can’t compare myself to others. I’ll get to where I’m meant to be if I keep going and keep trying and remain true to myself.

You can see the full interview with Ira Glass HERE

A Super 8 Video Thing

I’m not a huge Robyn fan but I do love a Super 8 film and this one was made by Magnum photographer Jim Goldberg. It’s more than a little bit beautiful. Click the link.

http://www.nowness.com/media/embedvideo?itemid=1569&issueid=1628

The Secret Life of Robyn on Nowness.com.

A Cookie Thing

P brought this to my attention. LOOK AT THE PRETTY CAMERA BISCUITS!

You can buy them from manjar on Etsy.

An Emotional Thing

@_MissLouPops_ wrote about her husband to be’s wedding ring. Read her post.

My nan had alzheimer’s when she died (she officially died from pneumonia but that wasn’t really what killed her) and I found this post really moving.

It’s a terrible disease that robs people of their dignity and it’s so wonderful that Tom has found such a great way to make sure his dad is remembered at their wedding.

A Band Thing

I found Kill it Kid at Secret Garden Party. I like this song a lot.

A Final Thing

Alex Beadon shared this on her blog yesterday. Blogger Scott Schumann, aka, The Sartorialist, talks about his photography.

Leave a Reply

