Thursday Things

Hello Thursday. You look like most of the other days this week as I’m still off work, sitting at home, snuffling away to myself. Here are some happy Thursday Things that have cheered me this week.

http://www.laurababb.co.uk

A New Town Thing

You may or may not know that I’m originally from Harlow in Essex. Harlow was designated as a new town in 1947 and its designer, Sir Fredrick Gibbard, had visions (like many of his counterparts of the time) of a utopia with pedestrianised precincts, thriving neighbourhood shopping centers and an abundance of jobs for residents in manufacturing industries.

I find the whole experiemental nature of new towns really interesting and I actually studied them as party of my Chartered Institute of Housing qualification (did I ever tell you that I have a Chartered Institute of Housing qualification?).

So when I saw this facinating video about Stevenage, another new town, on How to be a Retronaught I had to share it. It’s an interesting peek into the past. Check out the crazy dancing at 3:40

A Tally of Two Cities Thing

A Tally of Two Cities is a comparative illustration series by Vahram Muratyan. I love.

Via Dressed by Style

A Save the Date Thing

Is it wrong to blog a picture of our Save the Dates before we’ve sent them to anyone? P is a graphic designer and we spent an evening with a bottle of champagne designing these. I’m so pleased with them and I think he’s very, very clever.

A Wedding Thing

I didn’t know you could get married at Eltham Palace. Check out this georgous wedding by photographer Ed Peers. I the art deco and the 30s feel and Ed’s photography is beautiful.

A Shoe Thing

I love these. And then I hate them. And then I love them a again. Miss L Fire your shoes confuse.

Of course it’s all irrelevant as I am entirely unable to walk in heels. How hard would it be to learn to walk in heels?

A Workshop Thing

you might have seen this earlier in the week.

I will be running a Photography for Bloggers workshop. In fact you don’t need to be a blogger to take part. It’s going to be a basic photography workshop that focusses on composition, light, editing and how to take more creative photos.

If you check back next week there will be details about how you can win a place for free. Yes, FREE!

A Burning Man Thing

Jane went to Burning Man for the first time. She wrote a before and after blog about it.

And here’s a picture that shows why I’d never take my best camera to Burning Man.

Credit: Mr Nighshade – do check out the rest of their amazing Burning Man pictures.

That’s all for this week. Leave me some comment love if you feel inclined. Laura x

9 thoughts on “Thursday Things

  1. Great post. I love that wedding that Ed shot, and I love Eltham Palace (have you seen the Sheryl Cole video shot there? Turn the sound down, and it’s a great video!) Love that Tally of Two Cities (about to pin it for my pinterest board, actually!) and I completely adore your Save the Date cards – so cute!!!

    I live in a new town, and I have to say that it is entirely practical. I miss the higgledy-piggledy Cornish village that my children were born in, but it’s very practical here, and perfect for a young family. If a *little* soulless at times.

    Can’t wait to hear more about your photography for bloggers course, how exciting! Off to read about the Burning Man experience now – OMG that camera!

    (oh and ps, those shoes, as long as they’re not too narrow, they’d be easy ‘cos they’re wedges. I can’t do heels but wedges are super-easy to wear)

    • I’m off to check out the Cheryl Cole video right now. With the sound down as suggested!

      I’m also going to find someone that stocks the shoes.

      Thanks for stopping by and leaving a comment. x

  2. Thanks for the link, Babb! Most kind. My camera didn’t look like that – anyone with any sense tapes it up beforehand in a ziplock bag with a ton of duck tape. I had to redo it a couple of times while I was there, but my faithful G11 has made it out the other side pretty much intact.

Leave a Reply

