100th Post

This blog is 100 posts old today.

*makes cake, lights candles and puts on party hat*

As is customary (I think?!) when marking big occasions, I’d like to reflect a bit and look back over the last 99 posts and I’d also like to say a few thank yous. This post is illustrated by various shots from the last year, both from weddings and all of the in between bits.

I started the blog in November 2010. I actually already had a blog that was integrated into the website I had at the time but it was clunky and terrible for a technophobe like me to get her head around, so I started a wordpress site.

I shot my first solo wedding in the Summer of 2010, for friends. I was studying fine-art photography at the time and I was into photographing architecture, urban landscapes and still life.

I had never even entertained the idea of being a wedding photographer before I shot their wedding but afterwards it was a different story.

I loved being able to use my camera to tell the story of their wedding so I decided then and there that I’d try to get more experience and learn as much as I could. I set up a website and I shot a few weddings for peanuts, for the experience.


Fast forward a year and I’ve shot a number of weddings this year and I’m thrilled by the number of bookings that are coming in for next year. On a personal level, it’s satisfying to see my work improving and I feel as though this year I’ve found my own style.

As far as this blog is concerned, it remains a fragmented and, to be frank, that’s the way I like it. It’s a personal blog more than a blog about wedding photography, as weddings are not the only thing I photograph. Anyone who knows me will tell you that I photography everything, all of the time, always.

There have been a number of people over the course of the last year and the last 100 posts that have supported me, promoted me, featured me, said nice things about me or believed in me.

Mostly this will be a list of thank yous but a special mention goes to Pete.


Pete is my fiance, my best friend, my second shooter and the biggest source of imaginable support. Over the last few months when my business has really started taking off and while I’ve been chained to my computer, editing photos at all hours of the day, he’s taken on more of the housework, he feeds me and he generally picks up the slack.

In his own words, he’ll do anything I ask him to, as long as I remember to say please and thank you (which I don’t always..heh).

When I have bad days where I wonder whether I can keep all of the balls in the air he is there encouraging me and saying exactly what I need to hear. A huge thank you, Pete. I love you and you’re brilliant and here’s a picture of your wonderful face.

As for all of the other thank yous, I’ll try to make them less gushing…

Thanks to my friends and family for their patience – it’s quite trying to constantly have a camera in your face, as they pretty much have for the last three years.

Thanks to people and websites that have featured/exhibited/promoted my work – Beyond Beyond, Londonist, The Corner Of The Internet I Call Home, Whimsical Wonderland Weddings, Rock N Roll Bride, The Bridestock Wedding, Rock My Wedding, Boho Bride, Pocket Full of Dreams , This Charming Wedding and Bonfire Night Bride.

Photographers that have, and continue to inspire me: Gregory Crewdson, Ed Peers, Max Wagner, Martin Parr, Karl Grupe, Clayton Austin, Nan Goldin

I’ll stop now because the list could go on and on. There are loads of photographers, particularly fine-art photographers, whose work I want to spend more time exploring.

Thank you to all of the couples and families that I’ve worked with over the last year, particularly those that believed in me enough to take a chance on me early on.

That’s it. Gushing over. Here are some links to my favourite posts from the last 100:

I Dream In Colour at Camden Bar Fly : https://laurababb.wordpress.com/2010/11/26/idreamincolour/

March for the Alternative

Goa

Baby James

Not Much of a Summer

Some Instagrams

Jon and Charlotte’s Wedding Part 1 and Part 2

I’m going to stop there because regular readers have probably seen the most recent posts (my engagement shoot, Liam and Fiona, my engagement party and and and…)

Looking back over the last 100 posts, it’s been a good year and next year looks to be even more exciting. You can look forward to more gushing when I hit the big 500.

Laura x
http://www.laurababb.co.uk

2 thoughts on “100th Post

  1. Love the pic of Pete’s face! He soooo didn’t want his photo taken at that point in time!

    Lovely post (as always). I think your blog strikes a brilliant balance between personal and wedding pictures. It’s nice to know a little something about the person behind the camera šŸ™‚

    Keep on shooting Ms Babb x

Leave a Reply

