Thursday Things

It’s been an exciting couple of weeks. I photographed a book launch, featuring a giant knitted squid last week and then last weekend I got to take pictures of a gorgeous lady baker at a vintage fair for a magazine. A magazine!

I’ll be blogging both of these exciting events soon-ish so watch this space.

I also went to a photography workshop that was run by the amazingly talented and inspirational Steve Gerrard yesterday. It’s the first time I’ve shot real models and it was really good fun. I’ll be writing it up soon.

So here are this week’s things.

A Millau Viaduct Thing

We’re off to France tomorrow to see some of Pete’s family. We’ll be visiting the Millau Viaduct while we’re there. As a lover of modern architecture, I am hugely excited about this. Look how amazing it is:

A Sex Education Thing

Can you imagine if Dr Suess wrote sex education books? No? Someone else could. This is a spoof of course…and it’s a bit rude…and probably not safe for work….
Credit: Now That You’re Big

A Nerdy Thing

Nerdy Day Trips. is a new website that logs nerdy destinations including sea forts, abandoned nuclear bunkers, dead Victorian race courses, roads that are falling into the ground, narrow gauge railways that take you to a power station, decaying infrastructure and enthusiast-run museums among other things.

It’s an amazing resource and not just for those looking for nerdy day trips. I’m thinking photo shoot locations.

One of my nearest nerdy locations on the site is Highgate Cemetary. If you’ve never been, it’s well worth a visit. It’s beautiful and crumbling and it’s also the last resting place of famous people such as Karl Marx and Douglas Adams.

A Photography Thing

I came across this picture by Miss Anila while reading an article on photographing low light situations. beautiful, isn’t it? Check out more of her work on her website.

A Kids Say The Funniest Things Thing

Trailing Husband ‘s kids asked him these questions:

How did the first person know what to call things?
Which letter of the alphabet do you hate the most?
Why don’t they make kettles out of Tupperware so you can put them in the microwave?

Do you have kids? I’d love to know how you’d answer.

A Toilet Tag Thing

My friend Sam is collecting graffiti that’s found in toilets. A noble cause if ever there was one.


Credit: Toilet Tags

Give him a shout if there’s something you’d like to submit.

That’s it for this week. If you have any suggestions for future Thursday Things posts, do drop me a line won’t you?

Laura x
http://www.laurababb.co.uk

8 thoughts on “Thursday Things

  1. Haha, the kid comment thing, I have no answers for those, I’d probably tell Scarlett to go bother someone else (natural mother that I am!)

    I’ve never been to Highgate Cemetary, would love to go.

    PS. – Like the new layout.

Leave a Reply

