Thursday Things

How’s the first Thursday after Clock Gate treating you? I hate the dark evenings personally and every fiber of my being is screaming at me to hibernate. I wish I was a bear.

Here are some THINGS to brighten things up a bit.

A Movember Thing

If you don’t know about Movember, where have you been hiding? It’s a fund raising effort that happens every November, where men get sponsored to grow facial hair (Moustache + November = Movember, see?). The money raised goes towards promoting men’s health and in particular raising awareness about prostate cancer.

Credit: Movember

Put more simply: Facial hair = good, cancer = bad

You don’t even have to be a man to get involved (although it’d obviously help on the beard/’tashe growing front). The lovely Fiona from The Corner of The Internet I Call Home has a fund raising page or ‘mospace’ here. Go and give the girl some money – it’s for a good cause.

And, boys, check your man parts, ok?

A 100 Word Story Thing

100 Word Story is this:

One hundred seems perfect. It’s the basis of percentages, the perfect test score, the boiling point of water (Celsius), purity. Pythagoreans considered 100 as divine because it is the square (10 x 10) of the divine decad (10), whatever the fuck that means. Even a Scrabble set has 100 tiles.

And yet 100 is a fragment. It’s an arbitrary marker, like the “First 100 Days” of a president’s term—merely a promise of what’s to come, or a whiff of what has passed.

The whole is a part and the part is a whole. The 100-word format forces the writer to question each word, to reckon with Flaubert’s mot juste in a way that even most flash fiction doesn’t. At the same time the brevity of the form allows the writer “to keep a story free from explanation,” as Walter Benjamin wrote.

For life doesn’t lend itself so easily to our elucidations. “Incoherence is preferable to a distorting order,” said Roland Barthes.

None of us will ever know the whole story in other words. We can only collect a bag full of shards that each seem perfect.

Writing isn’t my strong suite, sadly, but if it was I’d write a 100 Word Story for sure. In fact I might try to write one anyway. No doubt it’ll be hackneyd and cliche-tastic.

Here’s a 100 Word Photostory by Tony Press:

I used to think it would be, well, not all hearts and flowers, but, romantic, somehow, more romantic than my parents, that’s for sure. I didn’t mean to be the naïve girl who never did dope or even went to raves, for all the right reasons, but looking back, that was me.

I was eighteen, and then I was twice that.

And so here we are, sex on Tuesdays and Fridays, yoga on Saturdays, football on Sundays. He’s happy so I’m happy.

But if I had one thing to change, we would have chosen a smaller table. I miss footsie.

A Bird Thing

Look!

I found this via Dressed By Style.

Abigale Brown is a textile artist and she makes these amazing birds. I want the flamingo.

A Rob Ryan Thing

I love Rob Ryan and my lovely cousin and his wife (who am I kidding, it was mostly his wife…) bought this for P and I as an engagement present.

She even got Rob Ryan to sign the back for us. I think Rob Ryan thinks she’s a bit of a weirdo but I am hugely grateful. Thanks, L. x

A Wedding Thing

Very classical chic and stylish weddings are nice and all but I do love a bit of colour. Check out this Day of The Dead styled shoot on Green Wedding Shoes.


photography: Marianne Wilson and Joe Sanada of Marianne Wilson Photography – all other credits can be found on the origional post here

I love this. It makes me want more colour at my own wedding.

That’s it for this week’s things. Stop by tomorrow when I’ll be blogging about the second winner of my Rock N Roll Bride competition. Here’s winner one, the brilliant Alison and Dan, in case you missed them.

Happy Thursday xx

HaP

One thought on “Thursday Things

  1. It is a treat for me to find my 100-word story here. I’ve also enjoyed the photos surrounding it, all over the site, so thank you for that, too. I’m ordinarily in the states, near San Francisco, but currently enjoying the gentle Oaxaca, Mexico, climate and culture. Feliz Navidad, y Un Prospero Ano Nuevo

Leave a Reply

