And The Winner Is {part 2}

So Alison and Dan were one set of winners in my competition for free wedding photography.

Now over to Lucy and Andy. Lucy and Andy’s entry was the first one I received and, to be honest, I knew then and there that I wanted to photograph their wedding. I wanted to photograph it badly.

Here’s what Lucy had to say about their day:

My name is Lucy and my boyfriend is called Andy.

We are getting married (on stage!) on January 21st at Bury St Edmunds Theatre. So beautuful!

We wanted to find somewhere unique and when I called the theatre they were just thinking about hiring it out for weddings so – perfect timing!

We have two gorgeous daughters, Mae who is 5 and Betsey, 2. They will be bridesmaids along with our niece and a friend of mine.

I am learning to do dressmaking as am going to start my own fashion label soon and Andy works in music, he’s on tour with George michael at the moment but before the transition he was in a Britpop band for ten years or so. I was an actress and then worked in TV for a long time as a Floor Manager and then owned a boutique but realised I prefer making stuff to just selling it.

We live in Suffolk now and will be the first people ever to get married at the theatre. We are getting married as it’s something we’ve wanted to do for ages and this will be the icing on the cake for us. Andy has been on tour nearly all year with different bands so we are really looking forward to it.

We only finalised it all in the last few days and then your competition came up, which is funny!

We haven’t decided on food for definite but it might be curry. Music wise, either a swing band or a ceilidh and then a disco. Most of this will be on stage or in the Green Room Bar.
There will be a definite 50s theme running through the wedding!

I have attached a pic of Andy and I, and the girls – the theatre interior, a pic of a 50s style dress similar to the one I am going to make, a few other things you might want to see.

Here are a few of the pictures Lucy sent.

I can’t use all of the pictures because I don’t have the sources to credit. It doesn’t matter because you get the gist.

Lucy and Andy have both been performers (I confess to being a fan of the band that Andy was in and I have promised Lucy in advance that I won’t be a star struck weirdo…) and they are getting married on stage, in a beautiful theatre, and having a 50s theme.

Lucy will be getting ready in the Theatre dressing rooms and they’re having their post-ceremony drinks in the green room. Lucy is making her own dress and their daughters will be their bridesmaids. I love their wedding already.

It’s going to be amazing and I’m so pleased to be able to be a part of both Lucy and Andy’s and Alison and Dan’s weddings; both couples are having unique weddings with lots of brilliant details that actually mean something to them and that makes me very happy indeed.

Thanks also to Kat, aka the Rock N Roll Bride.

Laura x

5 thoughts on “And The Winner Is {part 2}

Leave a Reply

