Thursday Things

There’s been an awful lot of negativity floating around the internet this week. As someone whose moods tend to be influenced by the world and people around her, I thought (even more than usual) I’d try to use this week’s Thursday things to be upbeat and inspirational and, dare I say, full of niceness.

*passes the bucket*

Lets start…

A Quote Thing

I quoted Ambika Wauters on Facebook and Twitter earlier in the week:

All negativity is an illusion created by the limited mind to protect and defend itself

I firmly believe this to be true. All of the negative emotions we ever experience are born of fear and a perceived need to protect our own positions. It’s perfectly understandable that we feel this way but it would be nice to be able to let it go…

A Personal Project Thing

When you do anything creative it’s very easy to get stuck in a rut. When you’re paid to do a job you have a brief to work to or a final outcome to deliver and this invariably has an impact on the way you work.

That’s why personal projects are so important and, as a photographer, shooting for fun and for your own development is crucial for your development.

The marvelous Lisa of Lisa-Jane Photography has started a personal project where she’ll be photographing people in their favourite shops. She got the idea for her project after visiting City Lights Books, in San Fransisco.

Here’s Lisa in City Lights books.
Credit: Lisa Jane Photography

And here’s what she had to say about her project.

When we started planning our honeymoon in San Francisco, I knew we had to make a stop at City Light Books. Steeped in history and home to some of my favourite authors, I knew this was going to be a special place. To say I was excited, is an understatement and Alex can vouch for my constant talking about the books that had their roots firmly grounded in this shop.

We spent a lot of time in the store, I of course took a lot of photographs and I got thinking about a project that requires your help!

I want to photograph a series of images of people in their favourite shops. I love how people’s favourite things reveal something about them and it was getting lost in my my now favourite bookshop that started this all.

If you’d like to take part, contact Lisa on lisajanephotography (at) yahoo.co.uk

A List Thing

So in the interest of finding things that inspire others, I googled the phrase “I am inspired by…”

Here’s a list of some of the answers I found. I’m not going to reference them all because if you google the same phrase you’ll find them easily enough.

I am inspired by personal technology. I like to figure things out and that helps to keep me constantly learning new things.

I am inspired by both the genius and the crackpot, the elegance of the universe and Tron.

I am inspired by my fans

I am inspired by the power that a few loving words can have to heal a lifetime of hurt

I am inspired by the little things in life to pick up my camera and shoot…
I am inspired by a montage of people, places and things. My inspiration comes from my life, my experiences and my passion for painting.
I am inspired by the Sea
I am inspired by the positive legacies of others upon which this world is built. ….
I am inspired by the soul that learns from the past.

Credit Moyan_Brenn

Tell me what inspires you in the comments. Go on!

A Boom Pop Whiz Thing

We had a little party at the weekend and parties are nice, aren’t they? It was Guy Fawkes night and we watched the fireworks from our balcony.

P’s brother took some pictures.

Credit David Wilbourne

They’re great shots and Dave managed to take them without the use of a tripod. I am amazed that he managed to hold the camera still as I know I wouldn’t have been able to.

A Truly Inspirational Thing

Someone I work with in my day job was telling me that his sister is a photographer in Nigeria. She’s just about to take part in the 2011 Invisible Borders project.

Here’s a bit about the project from their website:

In 2009, ten Nigerian photographers came together and embarked on a project called INVISIBLE BORDERS 2009 – a trip from Lagos to Bamako by road. The project was inspired by the 8th edition of the Festival of photography in Bamako. This initiative arose as a result of an urgent need to address the notion of dividing borders between countries in the African continent. It was an attempt to acquire a more realistic sense of the similarities and difference between people’s suggested by cultural and geographical divides. But beyond geographical frontiers, it was in a bid to experience firsthand those salient but latent factors which suggest a certain form of demarcation between a people of similar race, hence the project’s nomenclature: INVISIBLE BORDERS.

Credit Jumokeshotme

This year’s project is focussing on visiting different arts projects across the African continent to form a cultural and artistic network across Africa and the journey will be photographed. I think that’s pretty amazing.

A Not So Serious Thing

Cornify unicorn and rainbow happiness
More unicorns at Cornify

This is me, but Cornified. Yeah, that’s right you can add rainbows and unicorns to your pictures over at Cornify.com. It’s hard to be negative when you’re covered in unicorns. Fact.

Go forth into the world and Cornify everything that moves. Go on!

Laura x
http://www.laurababb.co.uk

Leave a Reply

