Curious and curiouser!

This morning was a good morning as the postman knocked on my door and gave me two lovely packages.

The first was a box of goodies from Lush from the ever lovely Simone. Again I feel myself feeling totally amazed at the way this year has developed. I’ve met some brilliant people and I’m grateful for all of the new experiences that I’ve had but also for the little things that have enriched my life. I went out of my way to do something nice for Simone and Simone went out of her way to do something nice for me and we both felt that little bit happier because of it.

That’s also the idea behind The Curiosity Project, the reason for the second package I received today.

The Curiosity Project is effectively a random gift exchange. You enter, you get given the address of someone to send a box to and you then fill a box with goodies to send to them, while someone, somewhere else is doing the same with with a box that they’ll send to you.

You give something and you get something back but you get so much more out of it than just receiving a box of goodies. It’s also exciting to put together the box that you’ll be sending – I spent a lot of time searching the shops to make sure the contents of my box were exciting and fun and surprising.

So anyway, my box. It was carefully wrapped in colorful paper and I loved that my curious friend had individually wrapped all of the items in the box and written a little note explaining each one.

The gifts were all wonderful. There was:

A great card with drawings by David Shrigley (I am a fan of his work, especially the tattoo section on his website!)

A beautiful mug with line drawings of London. I love line drawings and obviously being a Londoner I’m a pretty big fan of our Capital city! There were also and two mini packets of Teapigs tea which I love but I’d never tried the flavours my friend sent me, so I’m looking forward to them very much

Purple is my favourite colour and I’ve started taking a note book with me everywhere I go to note down ideas and inspiration, so this gift was particularly brilliant.

There was this cool wallet to put my oyster card in:

A book with a note that explained my curious friend spends all Christmas reading (me too!)

A diary illustrated with beautifully designed album covers:

There were some glow in the dark stars “in case it’s cloudy and you can’t see the stars”. I forgot to take a picture of them sadly and I have to nip out now but I love a glow in the dark star and I even went as far as covering a whole outfit in them for a festival this summer!

And last but by no means least a scraperfoil. I think I like this best of all of the gifts for reasons of nostalgia. Their note explained that they always used to get one in their Christmas stocking. Well I have vivid memories of making a scraperfoil picture for my Nan as a Christmas present when I was around 8, so this really did bring back happy memories.

I loved my curiosity box. Thanks so much to my curious friend. And if it happens to be you, do leave a comment and say hello, won’t you?

Laura x

http://www.laurababb.co.uk

One thought on “Curious and curiouser!

Leave a Reply

