Bits of 2011

WWW.LAURABABB.CO.UK

As is customary around this time of year, I find myself thinking about the year and everything that’s happened. This year has been a doozy both personally and professionally.

The biggest of all the big things was that Pete and I got engaged. It’s hard to imagine a day where I’d feel happier than I did on my birthday, when Pete asked me to marry him but I’m sure our actual wedding day will be even more wonderful and my highlight of 2012

Also on a personal level I gained a nephew. He really is an adorable little thing and funny to boot. He does this cute little laughing thing when you sing to him and he’s such a happy, contented baby.  He’s adorable.  Really, really adorable and my brother and his wife are wonderful parents.  I’m very proud of them.

From an artistic perspective, I started calling myself a photographer and thinking of myself as an artist.  It took a while to get to the point where I felt able to do this.  When people ask me how long I’ve been a photographer, I find it really difficult to answer. Is it the first time I ever took a photograph or did I become a photographer over a period of time?  Well these questions matter less and less when you find your creative voice and I feel like I have found my creative voice this year.

Last year when I photographed my first wedding for a friend, I didn’t imagine I’d be in a position where I’d be able to call myself a professional photographer. I’m full of wonder when I realize that I’m doing something that I love so much and that I’m getting paid for it.

I’m really excited about 2012 and the way that my business is developing and I’m immensely proud of what I’ve achieved this year. I’ve been fortunate enough to photograph some amazing weddings, have work published in a magazine and have work featured on some of the UK’s biggest and best wedding blogs.   I’ve also worked with some truly talented people – you all know who you are and I want to thank you all for your support.

Of course there would be no blog features without the brilliant, lovely couples whose weddings I’ve had the honour of photographing.  Many of them have become friends and all of them have been brilliant to work with.

I’ve been thrilled with the feedback I’ve had from my couples too.  Some even went so far as to buy me presents to thank me and others did completely bonkers (but wonderful) things like buying me a massive pair of pink flamingos…. Meeting new, awesome people has been one of the best things about 2011.

Before this decends even more into gushing territory I’ll say a quick thank you to Pete for his unwavering support this year and I’ll leave you with some of my favourite pictures, both professional and personal, from 2011.

Happy 2011, everyone. See you on the other side.

Laura x
http://www.laurababb.co.uk

Leave a Reply

