100 Strangers Project 1/100

I have been meaning to start this personal project for a long, long time. I don’t know where I first heard about the 100 strangers challenge but I’ve seen other photographers undertake this project as a way of stepping outside of their comfort zones and I thought it was a great idea but, frankly, I haven’t had the guts to start it until now.

I felt really pleased with myself after taking this portrait. Approaching a random person was terrifying and it took me a while to work up to it. I’m much more comfortable photographing strangers candidly or photographing people when I’m being paid to do so, as that gives me a justification for doing what I need to do to get my shot.

Developing creatively means pushing yourself and for me this project is a way of doing that. It’s that step outside your comfort zone that enables you to grow so I’m hoping my portraiture will improve over the course of this project, as I get braver and braver.

Thanks so much to Kelston: stranger number 1 of 100. The fact that he’s been photographed by Martin Parr didn’t make things more stressful at all…

Name: Kelston
Where I saw them: Glastonbury Tor
What made me want to take their portrait: The hat and tweed jacket combo meant that Kelston was easily the most stylish person at the top of the Tor.

If this picture is of you, please tag yourself on Facebook.

http://www.laurababb.co.uk

3 thoughts on “100 Strangers Project 1/100

  1. Pingback: 100 Strangers Project 2/100 « Babb Photo Blog

Leave a Reply

