You’re waiting for a train… {Personal}

I’m all about the personal posts over the last few days it seems.

I watched Inception recently.

You’re waiting for a train, a train that will take you far away.
You know where you hope this train will take you, but you don’t know for sure.
But it doesn’t matter.

Why doesn’t it matter? It doesn’t matter because it’s better to be on the train speeding towards the unknown, with all of the excitement that it involves, than to be stuck looking at the same station day-in-day-out for the rest of your life.

Today is the day that I resign from my day-job.

I can’t really afford to do it. I have a wedding to pay for. Living in zone two of London costs a fortune. My wedding photography business doesn’t bring in the same level of income as my fairly well paid day job.

There are a million and one reasons that this is a bad decision. Frankly, making the move from the stability of a permanent job to the life of a self-employed creative is terrifying but I can’t carry on working 60+ hour weeks and I can’t carry on doing a day job that doesn’t fulfil me in the same way as my photography.

I have choices. Everyone does. I can keep feeling miserable because my day job isn’t what I really want to be doing. I could lament the fact that while I’m working full time I don’t have the time to really push my business forward. Or I could take a chance. A leap of faith.

You’re waiting for a train, a train that will take you far away.
You know where you hope this train will take you, but you don’t know for sure.
But it doesn’t matter.

12 thoughts on “You’re waiting for a train… {Personal}

  1. You’re going to do amazing well Laura – I promise you that. You’re full of passion and zest and utter savvy – you can’t do anything else but succeed in this. Congratulations and all my faith! CC

  2. It’s frightening but oh my gosh it’s liberating. No excuses any more….you’re free to go out and be the successful photographer you know you are!

  3. Without a shadow of a doubt, you will be absolutely fine. You and your photgraphy are faaaaar too fabulous not to be. Enjoy 🙂

  4. Laura, I think you are going to amazingly well now you have the time to focus 100% on your photography and not a job that doesn’t inspire you. Congratulations on making the leap. I hope to do the same one day, so will definitely want to pick your brains!

    Here is to you focusing on a job that gives you satisfaction and joy and new beginnings of which you have a couple to celebrate this year!

    xx

  5. Good luck lovely- I know you will be awesome and have the passion to make it work, I wish I was as brave as you xx

Leave a Reply

