Stories about pigeons

I share my balcony with pigeons. They walk past my window, along the wall of the balcony, bobbing their heads and cooing.

I’ve lived here for two years but they still startle me when I catch a glimpse of them out of the corner of my eye. I also catch them staring at me, heads cocked to one side with a quizzical look. Especially while I’m watching TV.

My mum is terrified of birds. She has a phobia of them. I remember her refusing to come to Trafalgar Square back in the days when the place was covered with pigeons and you could buy cups of food to feed them with. If you had a cup of food they’d land on you. I could go into Trafalgar Square when all of those pigeons were there but the minute one tried to land on me I ran away screaming.

I remember some time last year there were two pigeons outside of the building that I work in, in the road. One was hit by a car. The other nudged it and nudged it when it wouldn’t move. It stayed there nudging it for a good five minutes before it gave up. I swear it looked back mournfully as it bobbed off.

http://www.laurababb.co.uk
Laura Babb is a London based creative documentary Wedding photographer, providing quirky, beautiful and creative wedding photography services in London, the UK and beyond.

3 thoughts on “Stories about pigeons

Leave a Reply

