Goodbye 2012, I’ll miss you.

christmastree© www.laurababb.co.uk

I started this post with the intention of picking some of my favourite images from the year but I just cant. I’m so proud of so much of my work this year and I loved every single wedding I did. Choosing between them felt mean. What about the ones that didn’t get picked?! How would they feel?! This probably means I’m a little bit too emotionally attached to my work but hey ho!

I can tell you which was my favourite wedding of 2012. This one:

Image Credit: Hannah Millard

Image Credit: Hannah Millard

Mine. Yes, that’s me in a wedding dress, on a space hopper. I loved every minute of my wedding and I couldn’t be happier to have married the amazing Mr Babb. That’s not actually his name by the way; we both kept our own names but I do like to call him Mr Babb to tease him…

So, 2012. Where to start? What a year. I think I said that last year but, really, everything changed for me in 2012. I started the year excited about my fledgling photography business, having photographed 5 weddings in 2011 and booked in another 5 for 2012. Well I’d already photographed that many by the start of May and at the end of June I quit my day job to be a full time photographer.

It was also the year that I went to 6 lots of friend’s weddings, including the weddings of four of my closest friends. Two of them even married each other.

I loved my clients. I am so lucky to attract such a lovely bunch of people as customers. I got a bit emotional on every single one of their wedding days.

I made some amazing new friends (roaaaaaaar!) and it’s been wonderful to work with many of them as well as to have their support. One of the shoots I worked on this year is still yet to be publicised and I’m so excited about sharing it.

I traveled all over the country with work and I even traveled as far as Italy to photograph Laura and Chris’ beautiful wedding in Tuscany.

I’ve been excited to see my photography develop and grow.

I’ve been lucky enough to have work featured on/in Photo Professional Magazine, Unique Bride Magazine, Things and Ink Magazine, Wedding Magazine, Ultimate Wedding Magazine, Style Me Pretty, Artrocker, Rock Sound, Vintage Life Magazine, Wedding Ideas Magazine, Love My Dress, Rock My Wedding, Rock N Roll Bride, Whimsical Wonderland Weddings, OMG, The Wedding Community, Boho Blog, Beyond Beyond, The Natural Wedding Company, Bridal Musings, Far From The Wedding Crowd, Before The Big Day, So You’re Getting Married, East Side Bride, US Glamour Magazine’s wedding blog (Save The Date), Moment Junkie, Offbeat Bride, Adore by Chloe, London Bride, Offbeat Bride, Bridal Snob, Marry Me Ink and Mr and Mrs Unique to name but a few.

I feel very lucky. It’s been fun.

It’s also been a lot of very hard work and I’m looking forward to some down time at the start of 2013 where I can regroup and take a strategic look at where I’m headed.

2013 is going to be BIG.

I already have almost as many bookings for next year as I photographed in total for this year. I’ve also got a couple of exciting projects in the pipeline.

Thanks, 2012. You’ve been a blast.

This is my last blog post for the year. I’ll be back in January when I have some lovely winter wedding photography to share with you.

Laura x

http://www.laurababb.co.uk

Laura Babb is a London Wedding photographer, providing quirky, beautiful and creative wedding photography services in London, Surrey, Essex, Hertfordshire, the UK and beyond.

11 thoughts on “Goodbye 2012, I’ll miss you.

  1. You have definitely had a fantastic year and think things are only going to get better! Look forward to seeing more of your amazing work and you in 2013. xx

  2. I tried to sum my year up with a post as well but it was impossible to pick images, narrow down an entire year to MAYBE twenty photos. YEAH RIGHT! So glad that I stumbled on your blog today congrats on your big year. I’m excited to see what 2013 brings for you. I’ve added you to my reader!!! 😀

  3. Pingback: Vogue Italia Feature « Babb Photo Blog

Leave a Reply

